

Southern Alameda County Council of the International Reading Association

Officers:

President: Hampton Richey, Fremont Unified President elect: Madeline Bartch, ACOE Secretary: Treasurer: Past President: Mabel Latimer, Hayward Unified

Committee Chairs:

Awards: Historian: Legislative: Membership: Publicity: Research:

Programs:

Jeanette Veatch, speaker



Alameda County Council of the International Reading Association

Officers:

President: Madeline Bartch, ACOE President elect: Dr. Walter Klas, Alameda Secretary: Treasurer: Past President: Hampton Richey, Fremont Unified

Committee Chairs:

Awards: Historian: Legislative: Membership: Publicity: Research:

Programs:

A Sharing of Ideas on Teaching Reading for Non-English Speaking Children Phonics vrs. Sight Reading The Role of Classroom Aides and the Reading Program

The Southen Alameda County Council of the International Reading Association

name changed April 9, 1968 to The Alameda County Council of the International Reading Association



Alameda County Council of the International Reading Association

Officers:

President: Dr. Walter Klas, President elect: Dr. Pauline Brown, CSUH Secretary: Ruth Williams, San Leandro Treasurer: Tom Lord, Fremont Past President: Madeline Bartch, ACOE

Committee Chairs:

Awards: Historian: Legislative: Membership: Publicity: Research:

Programs:

1st Annual Conf: "Target: Reading", Dr. Henry Bauman, Dr. Jo Stanchfield, June Byers, Dr. Walter McHugh, Pauline Olsen, Carol Cruz



Alameda County Council of the International Reading Association

Officers:

President: Dr. Pauline Brown, CSUH President Elect: Ruth Williams, San Leandro Unified Secretary: Bertha Moulden Treasurer: Tom Lord, Fremont Unified Past President: Dr. Walter Klas,

Committee Chairs:

Awards: Lois Dalla Lasta Historian: Sybil Hoffman Legislative: Betty Detweiler Membership: Loretta Fox Publicity: Bertha Moulden Research: Garnet Austin

Members at Large:

Carol Cruz, Harry Gleason, Harriette Helzer, Howard Houck, Nancy Marshall, Thelma Wik

Programs:

2nd Annual Conference: "In Tune with Reading in the 70's," Dr. William Iverson, Dr. Delwyn Schubert, Fred Sullivan, David Johnson

Dr. Donald Durrell, Professor of Elementary Education and Dean of the Boston University School of Education.

Awards:

David H. Russell Award: Madeline Bartch, ACOE

(Established in 1970 by Dr. Walter McHugh to honor a reading professional for contributions to reading in Alameda County.)

(Dr. David H. Russell was a professor in the Graduate School of Education at UC Berkeley from 1942 until his death in 1965. He also served as president of the American Education Research Association and NCTE.)



Southern Alameda County Council of the International Reading Association

Officers:

President: Mabel Latimer, Hayward Unified President elect: Hampton Richey, Fremont Unified Secretary: Treasurer: Past President: Onvia Tillinghast, San Leandro Unified

Committee Chairs:

Awards: Historian: Legislative: Membership: Publicity: Research:

Programs:

Additional Information:

The California Reading Association was established in 1965, becoming the first reading association affiliated with the International Reading Association.

The Southern Alameda-Contra Costa Council of the International Reading Association

Name changed November 1966 to The Southen Alameda County Council of the International Reading Association



Southern Alameda-Contra Costa

Council

of the International Reading Association

Officers:

President: Paul Williamson President elect: Myrtle McParland Secretary: Treasurer: Past President: Woods Peters

Committee Chairs:

Awards: Historian: Legislative: Membership: Publicity: Research:

Programs:



Southern Alameda-Contra Costa

Council

of the International Reading Association

Officers:

President: Myrtle McParland President elect: Onvia Tillinghast, San Leandro Unified Secretary: Treasurer: Past President: Paul Williamson

Committee Chairs:

Awards: Historian: Legislative: Membership: Publicity: Research:

Programs:



Southern Alameda-Contra Costa

Council

of the International Reading Association

Officers:

President: Onvia Tillinghast, San Leandro Unified President elect: Mabel Latimer, Hayward Unified Secretary: Treasurer: Past President: Myrtle McParland

Committee Chairs:

Awards: Historian: Legislative: Membership: Publicity: Research:

Programs:



Southern Alameda-Contra Costa

Council

of the International Reading Association

Officers:

President: Woods Peters President elect: Paul Williamson Secretary: Treasurer:

Committee Chairs:

Awards:	
Historian:	
Legislative:	
Membership:	
Publicity:	

Programs:

The first meeting was held at the old Hayward High School (now Centennial Hall). Those present included: Myrtle McParland; Gloria Madsen, Hayward USD; Bill Costa, Newark SD; Dr. Fred Harcelroad, first president for Alameda State University (CSUH); and Dr. Ruth Carlson, Alameda State University (CSUH) professor.

Additional Information:

Chartered by the International Reading Association in December 1961

- ACC/IRA was organized by Dr. Walter J. McHugh, Professor of Reading, California State University, Hayward
- Dr. Henry Bauman from the Sacramento area helped organize the council and installed the first officers.